Preventing VAIO Care recovery on boot

I bought a Sony VAIO Y Series laptop for my wife last Valentine’s Day — how practical, I KNOW — and it’s been working great thus far, except for one niggling thing.

It boots into a recovery mode called VAIO Care every time. This mars the user experience siince the intention is always Windows 7, not VAIO Care!

I’ve copy-pasted the text wholesale, in case the site goes down one day (and mine doesn’t):

  1. Click the Start button and then click All Programs.
  2. In the All Programs menu, click the Accessories folder and then click the System Tools folder.
  3. In the System Tools folder, click Task Scheduler.
  4. In the Task Scheduler window, in the left pane, click Task Scheduler Library.
  5. In the middle pane, click VAIO Care.
  6. In the right pane, under Actions , click Disable.
  7. Close the Task Scheduler window.

References
http://digital-qa.blogspot.com/2009/11/vaio-care-click-here-to-disable.html

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Preventing VAIO Care recovery on boot

  1. Exactly the same thing happened to me, after the seventh time of rebooting trying to get to windows, I accidentally clicked on the restore button. I could not turn the computer off, the power button would not respond, and I lost eleven months worth of programs, files and pictures. I am NOT a happy camper. It wiped my drive completely and restored my computer like new.

  2. That’s unfortunate. I hope you had a backup of some of your important files in the cloud, or something.

    And you know what, the solution above doesn’t work all the time, occasionally I still go into VAIO Care, and it seems like there’s no solution for this at all.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s