MEPIS 8 and Fujitsu Lifebook S7110

I previously wrote that MEPIS worked (sound, wired networking, wireless networking) out of the box for my IBM R52. FYI, the wireless card is the Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG. I’d also previously detailed instructions on Debian “Etch”. What I didn’t state was that I would encounter issues where wlassistant would report that it was unable to get an IP address (via DHCP) whilst attempting to connect to a standard WEP router. However if I left wlassistant switched on for awhile, it would (mysteriously) work later on. I got fedup, and mostly used a wired connection thereafter.

I’m pleased to note that there are no such issues for my Fujitsu Lifebook S7110, which uses the Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG:

lspci -nn | grep 3945
05:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection [8086:4222] (rev 02)

When I booted up via the LiveCD, I feared the worst, as it was unable to connect to the (same) router. But go ahead and install nonetheless. On the first boot after install, I configured the network, to no avail. I rebooted however, and it worked fine. I’m still not sure what’s going on here, but it’s certainly a pleasant surprise.

For a time I feared that my laptop would reach it’s end of useful life before I found a distro as excellent as MEPIS, but that’s all in the past now.

:)

2 thoughts on “MEPIS 8 and Fujitsu Lifebook S7110

  1. hello,

    i have the same surprise with MEPIS. I have a Lenovo Y510 with the same wireless card Intel 3945. MEPIS is a wonderfull distro for me !

    @+ petitbob

Leave a Reply

